12th ANNUAL WILDFIRE ON ICE

CURLING BONSPIEL & HOCKEY TOURNAMENT January 12TH & 13th, 2024



AN EVENT TO BENEFIT:



The greatest hockey players and curlers to ever carry a Red Card...

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Please help keep the WACC and locker rooms clean!

FRIDAY, JANUARY 12

1000 OPEN CURLING

1100 – 1800 CURLING BONSPIEL

1830 – 2030 OPEN HOCKEY – ALL ARE WELCOME

SATURDAY, JANUARY 13

0800 - 0930 OPEN HOCKEY - ALL ARE WELCOME

1000 GAME 1: MNICS vs. MNDNR (chuck-a-puck @ intermission)

1115 GAME 2: DOI vs. USFS (chuck-a-puck @ intermission)

1200 FREE PIZZA FOR ALL KIDS!

1230 – 1300 SMOKEY BEAR SKATE FREE SKATES FROM THE WACC!

1315 CONSOLATION GAME (chuck-a-puck @ Intermission)

GROUP PHOTO - PLAYERS & FANS BETWEEN GAMES

1500 CHAMPIONSHIP GAME (chuck-a-puck @ Intermission)

1630 CLEAN UP & HEAD TO BANQUET @ AMERICAN LEGION DOORS OPEN AT 1730

^{**} Please consider patronage to community establishments. **

TOURNAMENT HISTORY

The year was 2011. The place was Seagull Guard Station. A few folks from the USFS and USFWS got to talking over some adult beverages (after shift!) and thought wouldn't it be nice if some firefighters got together and played a friendly pickup game of hockey? The first game was in 2012 at the Greenway "Snake Pit" and an epic time was had by all. The next year the group decided to also raise a few bucks for the Wildland Firefighter Foundation. Thus, an event was born. Since then, the event has grown leaps and bounds each year, moving to Walker in 2014. The event raised over \$31,000 in 2019, and is one of the largest fundraisers for the Foundation. New this year is a curling bonspiel, added because more people wanted to participate!

The Wildfire on Ice event and fundraiser is a true grassroots effort and very much a labor of love. The volunteers who put the event together are all involved in wildfire to some extent. The success of this event/ fundraiser would not be possible without all our volunteers, donors and supporters!

THANK YOU!

SATURDAY NIGHT BANQUET

WHERE: Walker American Legion
WHO: Everyone! Come one, come all! Open to the Public!
Cost: \$20

SCHEDULE:

1730- Cash Bar and Burger Bar opens downstairs
With Silent Auction, Presentation of Awards
& Live Auction afterwards

TOURNAMENT FORMAT

Tournament Winner Takes Home the "Champion of Champions" Traveling Trophy

Tournament Loser Takes Home the "I Hope We Hike Better Than We Can Skate" Trophy

Remember and most importantly: This is a fund raiser and a social gathering! **Have fun!**

No checking or cheap play. Intent to injure will result in player ejection.

NO SLAPSHOTS.

All players must sign a waiver before stepping on ice.

Game Format: 5 minute warm up, two 20 minute periods (stop time) with 5 minute on-ice intermission (chuck-a-puck during intermission while players are sucking wind on the bench).

1 Referee officiating the games; calling off-sides (delayed) icing, and goals. Penalties will not be called this year as everyone is expected to play with the utmost professionalism. Disrespect of official(s) will result in disqualification from tournament.

Rules of play based on USA Hockey Rules.

Two line passes are allowed and there will be delayed off-sides.

Tie breakers: 5 minute run-time OT period. 4 on 4. Sudden Death Shootout if needed.

Resurface ice between games.

PLEASE keep locker rooms clean.

www.wildfireonice.com

www.wffoundation.org

RECORD OF CHAMPIONS

YEAR	WINNER	RUNNER-U P	LOCATION
2012	USFS	USFWS	Greenway
2013	USFWS	USFS	Grand Rapids
2014	MNICS	DNR	Walker
2015	DOI	DNR	Walker
2016	MNICS	DOI	Walker
2017	DOI	MNICS	Walker
2018	DOI	DNR	Walker
2019	DNR	USFS	Walker
2020	DNR	DOI	Walker
2021	* COVID *		
2022	DNR	MNICS	Walker
2023	DNR	MNICS	Walker

2023 CHAMPIONS MN DNR



TOURNAMENT MVP

YEAR	MVP	TEAM
2014	Tanner Koetter	DNR
2015	Jacob Beauregard	MNICS
2016	Jerry Hoffman	USFS
2017	Seth Grimm	DOI
2018	Josh Meyers	DOI
2019	Chad Reierson	DNR
2020	Mark McDonald	DNR
2021	* COVID *	
2022	Jensen Rice	USFS
2023	Ryan Halvorson	MNICS



(L) Jensen Rice 2022 MVP winner handing off the MVP Green Jacket to (M) Ryan Halvorson as (R) Banquet MC Vance Hazelton watches on.

TOURNAMENT AARP RECIPIENTS

YEAR	RECIPIENTS	TEAM
2016	Mike Wurst	DNR
2017	Greg Peterson	DOI
2018	Paul Olson	DNR
2019	Kurt Schierenbeck	USFS
2020	Steve Frick	USFS
2021	* COVID *	
2022	Ernie Schmitt	DNR
2023	Bob Raade	USFS



2022 AARP Award winner Ernie Schmitt passing the cane off to 2023 AARP winner Bob Raade



MNICS TEAM ROSTER

Player	Number	Home Unit
Mike Mackey – Capt.	00	USFS/CPF/Blackduck
Amber Jackson	2	USFS/MIFC
Steven Mrozek	3	USFS/CPF/Blackduck
Chris Kottke	7	USFS/CPF/Deer River
Nate Cochran	8	USFS/CPF/Walker
Mike Rice	9	USFS/CPF/MIFC
Dan Oberg	10	MNDNR/DOF/Grand Rapids
Joe Kaufmann	17	USFS/CPF/Blackduck
Andrew Stish	TBD	USFS/CPF/Deer River
Brent Rahn	19	USFS/CPF/Deer River
Ryan Halvorson	20	USFS/CPF/Blackduck
Jeff Killmer	22	USFS/CPF/Deer River
Alexa Kennedy	23	USFS/CPF/Walker
David Johnson	26	USFS/CPF/Walker
Casey Goldsmith	27	USFS/CPF/Walker
Brian Dargis	29	MNDNR/DOF/Carlos Avery
Jacob Beauregard	30	HSEM/St. Paul
Vance Hazelton	44	USFS/CNNF/Washburn
Rob Schneider	TBD	USFS/CPF/Walker
Ryan Johnson	99	USFS/MNCC



USFS TEAM ROSTER

Player	Number	Home Unit
Jerry Hoffman	1	MPF - Midewin IHC
Luke Macho	9	SUF - Ely
Joe Friedmeyer – Co. Capt.	13	SUF - Cook
Joe Mundell	15	SUF- Tofte
Brian Schroeder	16	MPF- Midewin IHC
Tony Harding	20	SUF- Ely
Bob Raade	22	CNF - Washburn
Kurt Schierenbeck	24	SUF - North Pole
Jensen Rice	33	SUF-Duluth
Mason Vance	38	USFS- Cherokee NF
Tyler Lange	41	SUF-Grand Marais
Ryan Ritter – Co. Capt.	52	SUF - ELY



DOI AGENCIES TEAM ROSTER

Player	Number	Home Unit
Dan Ramsey	00	FWS Detroit Lakes
Jim Graham	1	FWS Agassiz NWR
Jake Walters	2	FWS Minnesota Valley
Greg Peterson	4	BIA Retired
Jacob Johnson Co Capt.	5	FWS Glacial Ridge
Tony Arola	7	Red Lake Band
Scot Abel	8	Red Lake Band
Zach Doffin	9	FWS Fergus Falls
Cory Berg	10	BIA MN Agency
Jeremy Bennett	15	BIA Midwest Region
Shawn Kelley	19	BIA Midwest Region
Darrin Franco	21	FWS Detroit Lakes
Seth Grimm	22	FWS Region 3
Mike Mannson	29	BIA MN Agency
Wayne Brininger	77	FWS Tamarac NWR
Pete Beam	78	FWS Glacial Ridge



MNDNR TEAM ROSTER

Player	Number	Home Unit
Allie Kimball	1	Park Rapids
Calub Shavlik	2	Fisheries/Park Rapids
Tyler Hasbargen	6	Forestry/Williams
Graham Parson	10	Smokechaser/Cloquet
Mark McDonald	11	Forestry/Williams
Bill Alleman (Captain)	12	Forestry/Littlefork
Tom Heffernan	14	Forestry/Effie
Matt Martens	15	Forestry/Two Harbors
Clay Novotny	18	Wildlife/Grand Rapids
Wyatt Grove	18	Forestry/Kelliher
Dan Wiley	20	Forestry/Cass Lake
Matt Morin	25	Wildlife/Erskine
Chad Reierson (G)	31	Smokechaser/Cass Lake
Kyle Point	32	Wildlife/Middle River
Matt Tomoson	41	Wildlife/Crookston
Tristan Michealson	52	Bemidji/Forestry
Paul Olson	99	Smokechaser/Grand Rapids
Tucker Hell	007	Smokechaser/Littlefork

2024 Wildfire on Ice Curling Bonspiel



SHEET A Federales vs. Here Comes the Broom SHEET B Victorious Secret vs. Lithic Lightning SHEET C DOD and JB vs. Government Mules

SHEET D Open Curling

1210 Round 1 Matches

SHEET A Rockstars vs. Curls Ferda Girls
SHEET B TIME Sweepers vs. The Bunyans

SHEET C Bearcats vs. Toe Curlers

SHEET D OPEN CURLING

1320

Elimination Matches Begin

Repebble after 1320 Matches

1615

Championship, 3rd place, and Consolation rounds begin

Past WOI Bonspiel Champions:

2020 Rockstars 2021 *COVID*

2022 Government Mules

2023 DOD & JB



"The Bonnie"



2023 Bonspiel Champions! DOD & JB